Sign up for our newsletter!

Return to Classic Clairefontaine Staplebound Notebook - 3.5 x 5.5, Lined Paper
Sort By:
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice product July 29, 2014
Reviewer: Hector Sala from Mexico  
Great notebook, excellent for fountain pens. I really recommend this product for fountain pen writers. I only wish Clairefountaine  could make blank notebooks at this size.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
I'm no expert, but . . . July 17, 2014
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Freeburg, IL United States  
. . . the paper does not absorb my Noodler's black ink very quickly at all. Turning the page immediately after filling up the previous one results in smudges and smears. But I'm no snooty booty when it comes to these things. I actually kind of like it. Clairefontaine is typically a very smooth paper, and this notebooks holds true to that.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Super-Smooth and Consistent May 19, 2014
Reviewer: Shawn Young from Castle Rock, CO United States  
I use a variety of papers from very cheap to more expensive, and Clairefontaine remains a favorite for me. I appreciate its smoothness. If you like your paper smooth, its hard to beat it. Especially in this smaller size, it works best with a faster drying ink. If you're looking to use super highly saturated inks (e.g. Noodler's Apache Sunset) with slow drying times, this size won't be ideal.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great pocket notebook February 13, 2014
Reviewer: Cheryl Helm from Columbus, OH United States  
These are wonderful pocket-sized notebooks with the trademark Clairefontaine paper. I use the staplebound notebooks to keep track of my various pen/ink combinations since I have acquired a lot of pens lately and can't seem to stop buying ink samples from Goulet Pens because, well, they simply have so many to choose from. Unfortunately, I don't always remember what ink went in which pen a few days after filling so I'm filling these notebooks up pretty quickly to help me keep track.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Perfect for Midori Traveler (just about) January 20, 2014
Reviewer: Phillip Tracy from Chester, VA United States  
I use this Notebook in my Passport sized Midori Traveler and while it does not fit perfectly (slightly too tall, sticking out about .5 inch at the ends), it is one of the best quality papers you can use in a Midori at a reasonable price. The paper is thick and smooth, ensuring that all inks do not bleed through and most do not even show through. The binding seems adequate, the paper color is a pleasant bright white, and the design/colors of the covers are a nice touch. This Classic Clairefontaine notebook is very high quality and nearly ideal for a Midori Traveler Notebook (if not for the size difference.

Highly recommend for back pocket use/traveling/on-the-go/Midori use.

SEE INK NOUVEAU VIDEO FOR SIZE DIFFERENCE



Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Notebook was of poor quality December 30, 2013
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
It fell apart within five minutes of turning the page. Wasn't Goulet's fault, i feel the notebook s not that great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Love this little book. June 21, 2013
Reviewer: Donald Kelly from Medford, NJ United States  
Practical for grocery lists, memos, phone numbers, everything. And the paper is great as always.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great pocket notebook April 10, 2013
Reviewer: Joseph Kearns from Hershey, PA United States  
I am a physician who nowadays must use electronic records, which generally cannot be done right in the patient's room, so notes must be jotted down.  These neat small notebooks fit a patient label along the bottom edge of each page, and allow enjoyable surface on which to write with fountain pens.  Affordable with great paper.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Perfect size February 28, 2013
Reviewer: Bahadir from NY United States  
Its a perfect everyday notebook. Easy on the wallet too compared to field notes and the Leuchtturm1917. I pretty much don't leave the house without it. If you're someone that wants to quickly jot down and idea or a quick sketch or even just a simply list of to-do's. This is the perfect fit for you!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great paper. December 19, 2012
Reviewer: Timothy Teravainen from New York, NY United States  
Great paper. The staple-binding used to bother me, but no longer. I'd rather spend the money on good paper in a cheap binding than lousy paper in a fancy wrapper (I'm looking at you, Moleskine).

Still, you might have some trouble getting it to lie flat. Don't be afraid to bend it severely into shape — that staple isn't going to pop out.

The covers are also stylish. I recently discovered some Clairefontaine notebooks i used about ten years ago, and the covers looked dated relative to these new ones. I wouldn't have thought that notebook covers are trendy, but I guess they are.

Note — despite being good paper intended for fountain pens, it will still feather some inks, notably Apache Sunset. It's still a five star product; literally nothing is perfect in the paper/pen/ink world.

Offtopic: The best paper I've had so far for Apache Sunset has been, believe it or not, a university exam blue book. It's not glamorous but it has zero feathering.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items
Copyright ©  The Goulet Pen Company, LLC. All Rights Reserved.Built with Volusion